1262908_10200624992243622_1448355612_o 2.jpg

CALAH

  • LSE: Urbanisation and Development

  • Yale University: Political Science

Biography & Interests

I’m a 28-year-old American ex-pat, having stayed in London after my masters at LSE and my writing program at City, University of London. Yale’s approach to liberal arts allowed me to study a broad range of subjects, including: Literature, Sociology, Spanish, Portuguese, and Anthropology. These days I’m writing a novel; working on a social enterprise start-up I co-founded that is focused on mental health and wellbeing; and am involved in a number of literary world endeavours including co-founding the Black Feminist Bookshop. In my free time I enjoy playing violin, natural history illustration, and yoga.  

Experience & Approach

My past mentoring experience is largely centred on using writing as an approach to various subjects, both independently and through the organisation the Ministry of Stories. Writing is not only a useful tool for improving vocabulary and syntax, it’s also a means of profoundly engaging with the material at hand. Turning lessons into stories is enjoyable for students, a tool for retention, and improves their overall writing proficiency.

I enjoy mentoring in the fields in which I completed coursework for my degrees, primarily: Politics, Geography, and Sociology. History, English Language & Literature, and Spanish are also subjects in which I am confident mentoring. 

I was classically trained in violin for 16 years, and can provide mentoring for students learning the instrument. Additionally, I deeply enjoy working with students on application essays and personal statements, particularly those applying to universities in the States.