carolina mentor with Oppidan education london.jpg


  • University of Texas: Biology 2:1

  • University of London, Royal Veterinary College: Veterinary Sciences

Biography & Interests

I have a very international background. Living in Washington DC, Maryland, California, Texas, New Mexico, Rhode Island, New Zealand and London has made me fearless of change and hungry for new adventures. In 2015, I moved to London to study at the Royal Veterinary College and completed the 3rd and final year of my BioVeterinary Sciences degree with a view to doing a masters in Wild Animal Biology at the Royal Veterinary College in 2019.

One of my great passions is for horse back riding (English and Western) which began when my mother first put me on a horse at the age of 5. Since then I have attended and given riding lessons which has allowed me to fulfil my love for horses and spending time with children.

Experience & Approach

I have experience tutoring children with dyslexia and I am used to using exercises and techniques for visual and distracted learners. I have particular strengths in explaining concepts and problems to students in a way that they can comprehend based on their particular learning habits. I understand the importance of being gentle, patient and encouraging while tutoring so students feel accomplished and confident after a session instead of embarrassed and defeated.

I also find it important to make the lessons as engaging as possible by relating the material to my students’ interests. This tailoring not only helps students to remember the material but also makes sessions much more enjoyable.