DSC01284.jpg

KEELAN

  • University of Oxford: PPE

  • Westminster: A Levels Economics A*, RS A*, History A* and Maths A

Biography & Interests

I was educated at Westminster School, and read PPE at Oxford, graduating in June 2016. As one of three brothers, I’m very used to being in a boisterous atmosphere and being around lots of young people. After graduating, I did a brief 6 month spell in the House of Commons before starting my own company in March 2017. I tutored consistently for 6 months, until raising a Seed Round for my company. I have been working on the company since, which has grown and improved. I have some more time on my hands, as we are re-building for a London launch before raising another round of funding - and thought I could use the time to provide some tutoring. I’m also training to gain my black belt in Karate, in which I have been training for many years.

Experience & Approach

I believe the role of a mentor is to engage a student in a way that a school teacher can’t – through going beyond the school curriculum and showing the value in learning, I am to instil others with the passion for academia that I was given by my tutors. Self-motivation is critical for success, and I believe that through the energy I bring to the role, I can help show how learning is more than about jumping through hoops – through recognising its value, students are far more likely to work hard at their studies. I have previously taught Maths up to 18, though I tend to focus on essay-based subjects. In particular History, RS, and Economics up to A level. I also particularly enjoy preparing for entrance exams to Schools and Universities.