20181203_111104.jpg

CHLOE

  • University of Oxford, Christ Church College: BA Hons in Spanish and Italian 2:1

  • Graveney School: A-Levels: English Literature A*, History A*, Spanish A*

Biography & Interests

I am currently on the Civil Service Fast Stream, working for the Ministry of Justice. Prior to this I worked for a Latin American refugee and migrant organisation as a mentor on their Women's Project. I graduated from the University of Oxford in 2016 in Spanish and Italian. I have always been passionate about languages and literature. I love travelling and have spent time living in Italy, Argentina and Spain.

In my spare time, I spend a lot of time dancing. I have spent over 20 years dancing at a Cecchetti ballet school and have taken part in a number of performances. During my time at university I joined the Latin and Ballroom Oxford Dancesport team. I began to dance competitively for the team, travelling around the country and taking part in Varsity dancesport. I now train with a salsa performance team.

Experience & Approach

I have always been passionate about teaching and have had experience teaching both in the UK and abroad. During my year abroad I spent three months on a teaching placement in a middle school and 2 primary schools in Northern Italy. I taught English to children aged 8-11 in primary school and ages 11-14 in the middle school. The class sizes were big and I tailored the curriculum to the range of abilities in the classroom. I taught an additional course preparing students to take the Trinity College London Graded Examinations in Spoken English. Of the 20 students that took the exam, 12 were awarded with distinctions and 8 with merits.

After graduating I started mentoring a number of students in Spanish, Italian, English Literature and Language and English as an additional language. I have experience teaching primary level, pre-GCSE, GCSE and A-Level, as well as working with students on their interview skills and preparation for the 11+ and Common Entrance exams. I have also helped students prepare for university applications including the MLAT Oxford entry test and interview process.

I have just completed my 10th job with Oppidan Education, mentoring children from 8+ up to A Level. I have a student with whom I am helping with her homework, I am helping a boy prepare for his senior-school interviews, I am providing UCAS support for an international family coming to the U.K and teaching English and Maths to two lovely girls at 13+ and GCSE level.

Testimonials

In the few weeks since Chloe has started to mentor A, she has instilled a new-found confidence in his ability to deal with English comprehension and the understanding of complex vocabulary.” Mother of 11-year-old, January 2019

“Chloe is a delightful person. She has a great rapport with both of my sons and is helping them both tremendously with their GSCE English. She is inspiring, massively energetic and extremely well prepared for each session. We are so grateful to have found Chloe and would certainly recommend her to anyone who is considering private tuition.” Mother of two GCSE students - English Literature and Language

“Chloe is very professional, punctual, adapts to the situation, listens to requests and is very bright and would highly recommend.” Father of GCSE English Literature and Language student

“N and Chloe are getting on very well and his Spanish knowledge is expanding. N is enjoying his lessons and says they are definitely helping him in his school lessons.” Mother of GCSE Spanish student

“Chloe has been working with our son's nanny recently and the improvement we have seen in just a few weeks has been very impressive. We are incredibly grateful to her and would recommend her to anyone looking to improve their English.” (Employer of EAL student) From previous tuition agency

“I thought Chloe was great last night! B seemed to really love her! I think they had a great hour and B is looking forward to tonight.” Mother of 8-year-old, August 2019