Grace Fforde.jpg

GRACE

  • Durham University: Human Geography, 1st Class Degree
  • SOAS University, studying MA Indian Philosophy & Hindi. Distinction.
  • Guildford High Senior School: A levels - Geography A, Spanish A, Politics A 

BIOGRAPHY & INTERESTS

Once I finished my Masters, I began mentoring full-time. I then took up a job in the city working in ethical finance for 7 months, while continuing with my students at the weekends and evenings. I then quit my  job in the city to set up my own online sustainable fashion business. Mentoring is my passion, and as I am self employed with my business I have a lot of flexibility to continue to mentor throughout the week and weekends. In terms of my interests, music is a huge part of my life, both playing cello as well as singing. Consequently, a lot of my spare time is spent doing that - mainly playing with friends informally. I also am hugely passionate about India and have spent cumulatively two years of my life there. At the moment I am setting up a sustainable fashion line there whilst also trying to get my Hindi to a fluent level.

EXPERIENCE & APPROACH

I have experience teaching 5 year olds all the way up to University level. I have mentored four children through their common entrance, two through their GCSEs, one through their University course, as well as general tutoring at other levels. I want to share with my students a passion for learning and being inquisitive. I'm an enthusiastic and supportive person and strive to establish a teaching style that caters specifically to each child's needs. Overall, my ultimate aim is to foster confidence in my students so that they can become independent thinkers. I do this by creating an encouraging atmosphere where the child feels they can explore different ideas. My philosophy is "there is no such thing as a stupid question"!

TESTIMONIALS

"Grace is a big hit in our house!  She is a great choice for Bill, they have a very sweet connection, they’re funny together!" Mother of 9 yr old, June 2018.


Β