SGDP Students Feb 2019-156.jpeg

JESS

  • Kings College London: Genes, Environment and Development in Psychology and Psychiatry Masters (Lord Leverhulme 1+3 Scholarship)

  • Oxford University: Human Sciences 2:1

  • St Philomena’s School: A Levels -  English Literature A*, Geography A*, Psychology A*

Biography & Interests

I am a 25-year-old Oxford graduate, currently living in London while I study for my masters at Kings College London. My undergraduate degree included an eclectic range of subjects such as genetics, sociology, physiology and demography, but I have now chosen to specify my academic interests into the genetics of psychiatric disorders. After this preliminary masters year, I will begin my PhD at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience at KCL. I love being active, and whilst at Oxford I competed at national level for the Cheerleading Squad, rowed and played netball for my college.

Experience & Approach

I have been teaching Maths, English and Science to students since 2012, of varying ages and academic abilities. I find teaching and mentoring children extremely rewarding, and take great enjoyment from being part of their academic journeys. I have recently spent some time mentoring three Syrian refugees in English language over WhatsApp as part of a volunteering programme at King’s College London.

My mentoring approach is to be very patient and encouraging. I believe that the key to success is a love of learning and self-belief. I always aim to boost confidence and be as motivational and supportive for my students as possible.

My main speciality is 11+; I have had lots of experience teaching the four components of 11+ (English, Maths, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning) and am extremely confident in preparing children for forthcoming examinations and helping them gain a place at their first choice school. I also take great pleasure in teaching Biology to secondary school students (13+ and GCSE), as this draws upon a lot of the topics I studied at university. I have just completed my 10th job with Oppidan and have over 250 hours’ experience in the last year working on a range of jobs: 11+ English and Maths, interview skills for the 11+ Consortium Girls’ Schools and numerous mentoring jobs too.

Testimonials 

"Jess was absolutely brilliant! Young (highly accomplished for her age!) fun, intelligent and a delight to have. Such a wonderful match. You really have a knack at finding and combining the right people. Matilde was very happy. She is our toughest judge and she came skipping out after a good 2 1/2 hour work session!!" Mother of Matilde, October 2018

"Jess has been amazing!! We've really loved having her - she got on brilliantly with both children. I've let her know and offered to provide a reference if she needs one for any prospective clients. Thanks so much for finding her and setting up the sessions." Julia, Mother of 11+ daughter, January 2019