headshot 2.jpeg

MADDY

  • University College London: Bsc Statistics, Economics and a Language (81.2% in year 1)

  • A levels: Maths (A*), Further Maths (A*), Physics (A*) and Spanish (A)

Biography & Interests

After studying Maths and Physics for a year at Durham University, I took a break from my studies and worked for a startup in London, alongside working as a live-in tutor for a family in West London. I have since returned to study a new course and I am now in my second year at UCL where I have an academic scholarship.

Sport has always been a huge passion of mine and I am ecstatic to have recently qualified to represent GB at the European Sprint Triathlon Championships in Sweden 2020. Triathlon requires a huge amount of dedication, and this motivation, energy and enthusiasm are attributes I carry with me in all parts of my life. I also have a great passion for food, and love to cook myself nutritious meals to fuel my training.

Experience & Approach

I began tutoring in 2017 and found I absolutely loved the challenges it presented, as well as how rewarding it was to see progression in my tutees. Having helped my first tutee from an E grade in her mock GCSE Physics exam to an A grade, I found that I had a natural ability to explain mathematical concepts more simply. I also greatly enjoyed the relationships I was building with students, and how well I could see them responding to the knowledge I was sharing, as well as grow as individuals. My approach is one of enthusiasm and encouragement. Naturally a bubbly character, I find students respond well to a mentor who motivates them and inspires them to achieve the best they can in all aspects of their lives.