Michael.jpg

MICHAEL

  • University of Oxford: Philosophy, Politics, and Economics (PPE), graduating in 2018
  • North Halifax Grammar School: Maths A*, English Literature A*, German A*, History A

BIOGRAPHY & INTERESTS

I’m currently in my final year of studying Philosophy, Politics, and Economics at the University of Oxford. Beyond my academic interests, I’m an avid reader and a keen follower of football and rugby. At a younger age I was an enthusiastic amateur rugby player, but the brutalities of the game forced me to retire to a bicycle; I try to undertake a few cycling tours each summer, with recent highlights including the tropics of Scotland’s east coast and the green pastures of western Ireland. In a previous life I worked as a stable boy near Frankfurt, so I speak a little bit of German.

EXPERIENCE & APPROACH

I began tutoring over six years ago and have since helped to prepare students for exams ranging from the 11+ to university statistics papers. I strive to create an open, relaxed environment in which the child can feel happy stretching themselves without the fear of making mistakes, and I believe the gold standard of good mentoring to be the promotion of the child’s confidence in engaging with their education.

TESTIMONIALS

"Michael is a great fit for Tom I think. They seem to get on very well and he is encouraging and supportive of Tom which I am grateful for." Mrs Hart

"It's a relief on my part to have someone like Michael to bolster Ruairí as he has had a confidence dip this term." - Mother of Ruari

"Edward felt he learnt a lot from Michael and we enjoyed having him here." Mother of Eddy

"He was EXCELLENT and an enormous help for Will." Mother of Will